Posted by: Momma Sun | March 8, 2010

No weight loss for the weary….

I didn’t have a weight loss….I can handle that. As I was going to bed last night I looked at my husband and asked, “can’t we take tomorrow off and just sleep all day?” He said, “sure, but I am most certain this terrible thing called the alarm will come in and wake us up”. And you know what – he was right.

Anyways, as I was falling asleep, I thought about how I have been tired this week. Not sleeping very well at night and wanting to take a nap more than norma through out the day.

So I figured I would look into a few things about weight and sleep and this is what I found…

Lack of sleep increases over eatting. The hormone that tells us that we are hunger increases and the hormone that tells us that we are full and to stop eatting decreases. Take a sleep vacation, if you don’t know how much sleep your body requires, sleep as much as you want for several days and your body will stablize it’s self, you will start to notice you are waking up at the same time in the morning. Studies show that obese people don’t get enough sleep. (I think that is so funny, because talking to my doctor most obese people don’t eat enough either, could gaining weight be our bodies way of getting back at us for not taking the best care of it.) I found this information at Sleep and Weight Loss.

This link talks about the same stuff as above but also connects weight and sleep apnea: The Dream Diet.

Here are some “sleep hygiene” rules that may help you get adequate sleep:

  • Get up at the same time every day (including weekends).
  • Get as much light as you can during your desired waking hours.
  • Go to bed at night only when you think you can fall asleep.
  • If you’re having trouble sleeping, minimize daytime naps.
  • Make the bedroom dark. Get heavy drapes, if necessary.
  • Minimize caffeine, nicotine, and alcohol, especially before bedtime.
  • Exercise regularly, but not too close to bedtime.
  • Unwind for an hour first. Try taking a warm bath, journaling, switching off the news, or drinking some warm milk.
  • Make your bedroom a sanctuary. Keep the bills, work, etc., out.

Taken from Sleeping Your Way to Weight Loss.

It amazes me how much sleep affects our lives…not just weight loss either.

My goal for the week…

Water (100 oz)

SLEEP (good sleep)

Exercise (6 days)

Responses

  1. Sleep is SOOOO important! And I have found that I do sleep better when I am exercising regularly.

    Keep on keepin’ on! Your goals for the week are great. Small things add up to make a big difference!

  2. Sleep is a big goal of mine this week, too. I really need to get into a better routine so I have energy to exercise and make it through my day. Thanks for all the great information!

  3. Sleep is so major in the equation for your health and fitness. Good luck figuring out what is keeping your from being rested this week. I hope to find your refreshed my your next Mamavation post.

  4. hope you are able to get a better nights rest and see some of the other results too!

  5. Great, now I would like to take a nap. lol – I get so tired trying to keep up with everything. I tend to get a second wind after the kids go to sleep. I should go to sleep but I just can’t. I start thinking of all the things I could be doing but my body is too tired. Vicious circle! Good luck this week.

  6. Yep. Totally agree on the sleep. If I lack sleep, I drop everything and try to catch on my sleep, otherwise, I’ll be cranky. Sleep is your body’s time to heal itself, so give your body the chance to do its job. Make it a priority to get enough sleep everyday. — @ImAHotMom

  7. Awesome post! I need lots more sleep. I do all the things you mentioned. Just need to convince the kidlets to sleep… 🙂 Thanks for the reminder of how important it is!

  8. I know you’re right. Sleep really does affect weight, and my sleep has been terrible. Part of that has been kid issues with sleep. I REALLY need to work on this. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

